13776042_10104064675898832_8842839821201164639_n

It’s official: today marks the end of the first annual summer reading challenge at my local library 😦  Earlier this spring, I asked my library if they hosted a reading contest for adults- they didn’t, but after I mentioned it they started one!  Clearly, we have the best librarian/library assistants out here in this little town!!!  Now let’s recap:

Favorite Summer Reads:

This is a Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett (re-read because I love it so much!)

Blue Highways by William Least Heat Moon

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers

Stations of the Heart by Richard Lischer

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Met her this summer!!!)

The Residence by Kate Andersen Brower

Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (clearly a re-read although, it was my first time reading the illustrated edition!)

One Writer’s Beginnings by Eudora Welty

Black Boy by Richard Wright

El Deafo by Cece Bell

Hollyhocks and Radishes by Bonnie Stewart Mickelson and Judy Chard (The best gift ever! Signed copy!)

 

 

Other Books I Read:

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware (I’m uncertain of which list to put this in… summer favorite or just another book?  I would give it 4.25 stars, but I can’t stop thinking about the ending… so read it and we can chat!)

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

As I Lay Dying by William Fulkner

A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Gorge by Kara Richardson Whitely

Now and Again by Charlotte Rogan (I met her!  Nicest lady! Signed copy!)

The Swerve by Stephen Greenblatt

Missing Man by Barry Meier

A Picture Book of Louis Braille by David A. Alder

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Another Brooklyn Jacqueline Woodson (signed copy!)

The Dream Life of Astronauts by Patrick Ryan (signed copy!)

The Bully Pulpit by Dorris Kearns Goodwin (signed copy!)

The Children Act by Ian McEwan

The Dinner by Herman Koch

Underground Airlines by Ben Winters

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead(signed copy!)

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Eiger Dreams by Jon Krakauer

The Wander Society by Keri Smith

 

 

What were your favorite summer reads?

