Tags

, ,

Four hours and twenty minutes after leaving my teaching friends behind at the winery, I was home in Michigan. Summer in Michigan makes my soul feel complete- I don’t know how else to describe it. Families live outside in the summer biking, walking, running, exploring, getting ice cream; Grand Rapids, in fact, is the 6th fittest city in the United States according to Fitbit data. The best thing about Michigan is that you don’t have to walk very far to get to a lake. That means, I have lots of seasonal reading spots!

Saturday, my cousin and I celebrated my 30th birthday by heading to Saugatuck where we were near the waterfront all day shopping, dining, and discovering cold brewed coffee with chocolate milk- who knew?! I didn’t get a chance to read, but I did pick up We Were Liars from a bookshop owned by a glass artist and located at the top of a creaky set of nearly hidden stairs.

PicMonkey Collage

Sunday I read, a lot. We Were Liars completed the “YA” category from my summer reading challenge at Catlin Public Library and I read most of it outside soaking it all in. I thought it was really well written for a YA novel. It was also a perfect beach read because it was about a family who spends summers together on their private island until an accident.1614334741h7rkNjOhL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

Monday, I visited my grandma and then walked to Reeds Lake with my dog to hang out and read. She loved it, I loved it, and it was a perfect day! I finished A River Runs Through It for the “Written by an Illinois Author” category of the summer reading challenge. It was recommended to me by Andy at Parnassus; never did I ever think I would read a book about fly fishing and enjoy it, but I did!

What is on your summer reading list?

PicMonkey Collage4

 

 

 

 

 

