51Giu9lrrKL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_This is a book to read with a pen! My copy, brand new, and fresh from the mailbox now has underlining everywhere and notes filling the margins.  The language is beautiful in this book and there is a lot of wisdom to gather.  This is my first James Baldwin and I crave more!

The book consists of two letters, a short one written to a nephew and a longer one written to discuss his thoughts and feelings about race, religion, and life. This is the most beautiful description in the entire book. I cannot possibly think of a more exquisite way to word how James sees his brother and how we often see those we have watched grow up.

Other people cannot see what I see whenever I look into your father’s face for behind your father’s face as it is today are all those other faces which were his. Let him laugh and I see a cellar your father does not remember and a house he does not remember and I hear in his present laughter his laughter as a child.

Baldwin starts his letter by informing his nephew on how black people can be destroyed if they believe what some white people think about them. He discusses a hidden message telling black people to settle for mediocrity rather than striving for excellence. Baldwin believes that black people need to know their history and where they came from so that there will be “no limit to where you can go.”

…We, with love, shall force our brothers to see themselves as they are, to cease fleeing from reality and begin to change it.

A big take away for me that was just accepting and loving black people unconditionally is not going to get us anywhere. In order to defeat racism, we need to actively work towards equality. What does that look like though? What can I do to make an impact?

This book did not fulfill anything from my 2016 Reading Challenge, but it was worth every word!

