Tags

, , , , , ,

a-walk-in-the-woodsIt’s been seven crazy months, but I’m finally posting again!  Today I finished, A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson which held me captive all weekend and made me wish that summer was not coming to an end.  This book inspired in me a strong desire to go hiking, even if they were just short walks in nature more than they were hikes.

Bill Bryson has written countless books, a few memoirs and a few history books, but this is his tale of his attempt to hike the Appalachian Trail with his nutty friend, Katz.  Both men were out of shape and did not have a lot of hiking experience.  Bill is very critical of everyone they meet in a way that is quite humorous in the book despite my strong dislike for this type of lens in the real world.  Their adventure is entertaining and the book pulls you out of your house and outside- literally.  One cannot sit inside reading a book about hiking- it’s not natural.

star-four-11.jpg

 

