Tags

, , ,

main_shareSaving Mr. Banks is a wonderful movie that tells the true story of how the movie “Mary Poppins” came to be.  I adored watching “Saving Mr. Banks” and it revealed the reason behind why I loved the movie so much when I saw what P.L. Travers experienced with her father.  After watching the making of “Mary Poppins” I desired to go back and watch the Disney movie for the millionth time and read the original book for the first time.

 

Luckily P.L. Travers’ book did not take long to arrive from the library.  I thought it was an adorable book and one I would want to read to my future children.  The book was split into twelve small stories that didn’t connect much other than that the characters were the same.  It really is an ideal bedtime read for younger children and could be one of the first chapter books you introduce to your children.

marypoppins-book_114

I was surprised by how crazy the stories were though.  In “Saving Mr. Banks”, P.L. Travers was so serious and I assumed that much of the magic of Mary Poppins was added by Disney.  While Disney may have added cartoon characters and music, the stories were much more loony in the original book.  Part of this may have just been from the fact that there wasn’t as much connection between the stories so they seemed even more out there.

It’s hard to give a rating to children’s books because while you may enjoy them, they are just not as complex as an adult would desire.  An adult giving a rating to a children’s book just doesn’t make much sense due to the fact that they are not the intended audience.  Overall, I enjoyed this book but I would be curious to hear what children today think of it.

