Tags

, , , , , ,

18079776

Sue Monk Kidd books are a big deal and when Oprah steps on board, before the book is even published, it becomes an even bigger deal.  Thanks to the Parnassus First Editions Club, I received an autographed copy of the book on Thursday!  Thanks to the Champaign Public Library, I already started a library copy before my own copy arrived in the mail.

On to the book review.  In all honesty, I wasn’t a huge Sue Monk Kidd fan before reading this book.  I enjoyed the non-fiction book about the relationship she has with her daughter but I found her two novels boring due to the fact that I couldn’t relate to the main characters.  This book on the other hand I really enjoyed reading!  The writing style seemed so different from her other books.

The Invention of Wings reminded me a bit of The Help and followed two girls from childhood through adulthood with the narrator alternating in each chapter.  Sarah is a wealthy girl living on a plantation in Charleston who is given a slave for her 11th birthday despite her disgust at being given a person as a gift.  Hetty/Handful is the slave Sarah receives and becomes her best friend.  Sarah fights for the rights of slaves her actions becoming more powerful as she grows from a child to an adult.

Have you read this book yet?  Do you tend to like Oprah books?

***I own a signed copy of this book!***

