Tags

,

17707532

Let’s keep this simple- this is not a book I would recommend reading.  I went into this book thinking it would help me understand the teenage phase of development and would better allow me to teach young minds.  That is not what I walked away with.

Any book can be read by a wide range of readers.  The author of this book wasted a lot of words telling us that this book is both for teenagers and adults who used to be teenagers.  Instead of reminding us that the book could be read by either population and then moving on, the author kept switching the population he was talking to without warning.  I felt he should have just selected one group to write for and let the other group of readers mentally adapt the book for themselves.  The audience was constantly changing and it was very awkward.

Secondly, the author had a section in which he discussed the health benefits of meditation and how schools should start including that as part of their school day.  The way he was describing it made me think that he was describing religion without actually naming a specific one.  If parents would like their children to engage in prayer and meditation over religious writings, that is for them to decide.  Spending time meditating during class time is certainly not something likely to happen nor is it something that should happen in a public school.

Finally, the main aspect I disliked was the fact that I really did not learn that much about the teenage brain at all.  The book seemed to focus on the things that could go wrong in childhood and how to fix your issues as an adult if you had a traumatic upbringing.  The title of this book does not really convey that it is the focus of the book.

Let’s hope this is my one and only lame read of 2014 🙂  On to bigger and better things!

 

