Tags

, , ,

It’s here!  The list of my favorite books of 2013.  While I’m not done reading, I know the rest of the year will be super busy with holiday cheer so while I plan to keep reading, I’m going to write this post now when I have time 🙂

I’m ranking these in order with #1 being my favorite.  This list was generated based on what books really stayed with me long term so a book that I may have loved when I finished it might not be a book I’d love as much looking back on it.  That said, here is the list!!!

242913510. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

I loved this book and found it to be a nice slow moving mystery that allowed readers to figure things out along the way and really get to know the characters.  So many mysteries are so fast-paced and it was nice to read something a bit deeper.

1484679. Rhinoceros Success by Scott Alexander

A motivational, self-help book that is a speedy read, but requires a notebook and pen nearby to copy down all the incredible advice.  This book gets you pumped up to do something!  See my previous review!

66735848. The Amish Cook’s Baking Book by Lovina Eicher

These are the most incredibly delicious recipes I’ve ever tasted.  I realize it’s a recipe book but come on!  Your life will not be the same after reading this sweet cookie!

18378647. Pet Semetary by Stephen King

I loved this book for how deep it was and how many things it made me really think about.  It was not scary as much as disturbing and thought provoking.  See my previous review!

the-dugeon-master-by-william-dear__span6. The Dungeon Master by William Dear

A TRUE story about a boy so obsessed with Dungeons and Dragons that he goes and gets himself into trouble during a game.  He’s missing and William Dear is hired as a private investigator to find him.  I loved it due to the nerd factor, the mystery, and the fact that it was a true Michigan mystery!  See my previous review!

ThinSpace_FINAL (1)5. Thin Space by Jody Casella

This story is YA but is so well written with layers and layers of thought provoking goodness.  An adult would enjoy this and really be able to access some of the layers while a teen reader may just enjoy the book for it’s gripping plot.  Either way, another good mystery to enjoy.  See my previous review!

9984. The Millionaire Next Door by Thomas Stanley

Act the way millionaires do and read this book!  See my previous review!

ready3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Read this!  Even if you are not a video game lover, you will love it if you enjoy a fast paced mystery with a race to the end prize.  People who grew up in the 80s or 90s are also encouraged to read this book!  While not particularly deep, you could easily get into a great discussion about this book and our society today!  See my previous review!

fate_of_mercy_alban2. The Fate of Mercy Alban by Wendy Webb

Best ghost story EVER!  Just read it!  I had to edit this post because of it so read about how much I love it over here: https://booksnooks.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/best-ghost-story-ever/

Oh and vote for it here: https://www.goodreads.com/choiceawards/best-horror-books-2013

9780670023325_custom-366a6fe6b7c496aff46cc077884264aee0982bbc-s6-c101. Escape from Camp 14 by Blaine Harden

Really impacted the way I see my life and the world around me.  It shocked me more than any other book read this year and I really feel it’s a book everyone should read.  I’m reading it with my students in a few weeks too!  See my previous review!

What were your favorites this year?  Any that you’d like to read from this list?  Please share below 🙂

