Tags

, ,

Nearly 1/3 of the year has passed already!  If you are participating in the 50 Books Challenge then you should be on book seventeen by now.  Since we are about 1/3 through the year, I’ve decided to share my three favorite books of 2012 with everyone!  Comment above and tell me your three favorites so far and perhaps they will become my favorites too!

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah E. Harkness

Image

A witch, a dusty old book, and a love story.  What is not to love?  This book tells the story of a professor who also happens to be a witch.  Throughout her entire life, Diana has embraced order and normalcy.  Her lineage includes a long line of very famous witches and yet she strives to refrain from ever using magic.  Her desire to be normal  is intruded upon when an unwanted book falls into her pile at the library.  Soon odd people start turning up and Diana comes face to face with the woman she really is as she fights to protect her life and that of those around her.

The second book in this series comes out in July so now is the perfect time to pick up this book to read!  I cannot wait for the second book.

Slave: My True Story by Mende Nazer

Image

This book is one of the best books I have EVER read.  It tells the powerful, sometimes graphic story of a young girl taken from her family in Africa and forced into slavery.  What struck me most about this book was that this was going on in the 1990s.  Average families would buy slaves to care for their children and households without an ounce of remorse or guilt.  It’s shocking what goes on right in the open.

The Events of October: Murder-Suicide on a Small Campus by Gail Griffin

ImageThis terribly tragic story tells about a murder-suicide on a private college just down the street from where I went to university. It happened, when I was in middle school and I had no idea about it until I stumbled across this book at my favorite bookstore in the world, Kazoo Books. I’m so glad I found this book because it carefully set the plot describing Kalamazoo College with vivid descriptions, laid out the characters, and began telling the story about the warning signs and conflicts prior to the murder. The second part of the book explained how the college recovered from the tragedy and the impact it had on the students. The parents of the girl who was murdered support this book in hopes that people will recognize the warning signs of individuals who are hurting and take the necessary steps. This book would be an excellent read for anyone, but it was especially interesting to me because I have been to Kalamazoo College before and know the area very well. Such a well written book!

